Day one of the SA Horse of the Year show, the perfect weather was so welcomed for this year’s event, once again held at the Royal Showgrounds in Adelaide. Beautiful horses and ponies stepping out to contend for that win that would see them represent their state at the Nationals held in December at Werribee Park.

Some highlights from today saw good friends [pictured opposite]  Samantha Kennedy and Angela Forster off to a flying start bringing back the garlands, with Angela riding her own Yindarla Park Twilight to win the SA Large Show Hunter Galloway award and Samantha riding Warrawee Intreeg for owners Tegan Jade and Aaron David to win the Graduate garland Hunter Hack over 15hh.

Samantha Kennedy & Angela Forster

Photography by

Andrew Graham

Belle Ker’s Hibrie Flying Free worked sweetly to take the Large Show Hunter Pony, with Maddy Ginn & Georgia Davey’s Neverland taking the runner up. Belle Ker also had the ride on Daisy Lane Huntsman to win the runner up Child’s Small Hunter Galloway.

Daisy Lane Huntsman last years winner of the Newcomer Show Hunter Galloway and Small Galloway Show Hunter of the year, this year after a stunning work out with Alli Madill they again won the Small Hunter Galloway of the year, with all three judges having them 1st .

An absolutely stunning mare made her debut appearance in the showring today, Danson Debonair ridden by owner Nicole Berry, the big mare after competing in the newcomer for 2nd place, settled nicely for the open, with talent to burn, swinging paces she won the Large Show Hunter Hack of the Year. Once again we see the influence of warmblood breeding producing some serious talented show hunters, she is by Donnerblitz. Another, by well known dressage stallion Whisper was Wanted DD, ridden and owned by Melissa Karutz, was super impressive today and won the Small Show Hunter Hack of the Year, then went on to win the Children’s Small Show Hunter as well with young rider Chelsea Nelson. Melissa Karutz also was this years Senior Rider of the Year.

Cuteness overload for the day was Mia Ozlins and Kilpara Park Gambler, winning the Shetland Leading Rein Pony of the Year, Shetland of the Year and runner up Child’s ridden Shetland of the Year. Another young rider Isabelle Kerr had a great day with her pony Hibrie Flying Free winning the Large Show Hunter Pony of the Year award with a neat, well ridden workout.

Kolbeach Holly’s Twitter owned by Shelley Pollard and ridden to perfection by Margot Haynes stepped up to be awarded again the Medium Show Hunter Pony of the Year. Caitlin Fricker aboard Manorvale After Five won the Rider 12-14 years of the year, Caitlin showing the dedication of striving for perfection, for such a young rider she is a pleasure to watch.

SA Champion Show Hunter Large Pony of the Year Isabelle Ker's Hibrie Flying Free
SA Champion Large Show Hunter Galloway of the Year Angela Forster & Yindarla Park Twilight
SA Champion Show Hunter Medium Pony of the Year Margot Haynes & Kolbeach Hollys Twitter
SA Newcomer Show Hunter Pony Harry Beckel’s Beckworth Commanding Attention
SA Champion Show Hunter Small Pony of the Year Dalbrae Viking
SA Leading Rein Show Hunter Pony Imegen Watkins Mylani Hopscotch

Day 2

Great lineups with some very impressive equines hitting the center of the royal oval. The Large Hack of the Year saw a good class of horses present, DQ Monaco was this years winner, owned in partnership with Lawrie’s, Margot Haynes and David Quayle, runner up went to Happy Hour [owning a horse like this would make for many a happy hours to be had!] owned and ridden by Samantha Kennedy.

Small Show Hack of the Year, and another garland for the Lawrie’s stable with DQ Grace, Caitlin Fricker produced a superb showing of Manorvale After Five, owned by her and sister Victoria, to win the runner-up small hack, a well deserved win on the day.

Onto the SA Galloway of the Year, the Small Galloway winner was Kolbeach Holly’s Diamond owned by Chris Lawrie and Kate Kyro, ridden by Margot Haynes. Rosegate High Alto winner of the SA Newcomer Galloway earlier in the day stepped up for the runner-up, owned by Kate Halliday. Large Galloway was Alington Allegra owned and ridden by Charlie Hunt, with Sarah Binns Willowcroft Safari as the runner up.

The Leading Rein is always a highlight at this show, this years winner was Abby Schaefer aboard Picturesque Prince with Melissa Karutz leading. The runner up was Harry Manning riding Isabella Schiller’s Dalpura Barristar.

The ponies this year had some very delightful types and riders giving it their all. The winner of the Small Pony of the Year was Kate and Heather Kyros Mirinda Princess Perfect, runner up was the Fricker’s family Corumbene Kit Kat ridden by Victoria. Medium Pony was won by Rosedale Wembly owned and ridden by Harry Beckel, with Argyl Royal Heirloom owned by Millicent Quigly-Smith as the runner up. Large Pony was Argyl Secret Spirit owned by Charlie and Andrew Hunt and runner up was Kolbeach Balilika owned by Bianca Evans.

SA Rider of the Year 12- 14 years Caitlin Fricker
SA Champion Small Show Hunter Hack of the Year Melissa Karutz’s Wanted DD
SA Small Hack of the Year DQ Grace ridden by Chris Lawrie
SA Large Hack of the Year Margot Haynes’ DQ Monaco
SA Large Galloway of the Year Charlotte Hunt’s Alington Allegra
SA Medium Pony of the Year Harry Beckel’s Rosedale Wembley
SA Champion Large Show Hunter Hack of the Year Nicole Berry's Danson Debonair
SA Rider of the Year 15- 17 years Jemimah Watson
SA Rider under 12 Years Ella Manning
SA Small Pony of the Year Kate Kyros' Mirinda Princess Perfect
SA Large Pony of the Year Charlotte Hunt’s Argyl Secret Spirit

©2020 Australian Eques  Contact us


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?